The Diocese

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Raleigh comprises the 54 eastern counties of North Carolina, covering 33,088 square miles with a population of 5,088,389 (based on 2020 census data). The diocese is divided into eight deaneries with a total of 80 parishes, 17 missions, and four centers for campus ministry. The diocese is served by 147 active diocesan and religious order priests. The diocese includes nearly 500,000 Catholics. In addition to the growing Hispanic population, the diocese has become home to an increasing number of Catholics from the African and Asian countries. Approximately five percent of the Catholic population is native to North Carolina.

Printable Overview of the Diocese of Raleigh (PDF)

Map of the Diocese (PDF)

Below: White dots indicate parish locations. Click or tap to view larger.

Roman Catholic Diocese of Raleigh