Skip to main content

Bishop Burbidge appoints Deans


Bishop Burbidge appointed the following pastors as Deans:

  • Reverend Thomas R. Davis, V.F., Pastor of Saint Egbert Parish, Morehead City, as Vicar Forane (Dean) of the New Bern Deanery
  • Reverend J. Victor Gournas, V.F., Pastor of Holy Family Parish, Elizabeth City and Saint Katherine Drexel Mission, Maple, as Vicar Forane (Dean) of the Albemarle Deanery
  • Reverend Bill John Acosta-Esobar, V.F., Pastor of Saint Therese Parish, Wilson, as Vicar Forane (Dean) of the Tar River Deanery

The Diocese of Raleigh is divided into eight deaneries with a total of 95 parishes. Bishop Burbidge appoints a Vicar Forane (dean) in each deanery to serve in an advisory capacity regarding the pastoral and spiritual life and in their service as members of the Priest Personnel Committee.

The remaining Deans are as follows:

  • Cape Fear Deanery: Very Reverend John McGee, V.F.
  • Fayetteville Deanery: Very Reverend Monsignor Steven v Carlson, V.F
  • Newton Grove Deanery: Very reverend Very Revered James F. Garneau, V.F.
  • Piedmont Deanery: Very Reverend Scott E. McCue, V.F.
  • Raleigh Deanery: Very Reverend Justin Kerber, C.P., V.F.