Skip to main content

The Diocese

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Raleigh comprises the 54 eastern counties of North Carolina, covering approximately 32,000 square miles. The diocese is divided into eight deaneries with a total of 95 parishes and missions and five centers for campus ministry. The Diocese is served by 113 active Diocesan and Religious Order Priests.

The number of registered Catholics is 222,671, with an estimated 250,000 unregistered Hispanics. In addition to the Hispanic population, the Diocese has become home to an increasing number of Catholics from African and Asian countries. Approximately five percent of the Catholic population is native to North Carolina. 

Download the 2016 Fact Sheet (PDF)